Interesting Photo Model

When I first got into micro stock photography I quickly figured out I needed photos of people—meaning I needed people to pose for photos. I needed models. Craig’s List to the rescue. I advertised for models. Come in, pose for the photos, and I will sell the photos through stock agencies. Only you won’t get paid. In exchange for all your hard work you will get free photos for your own use. With few exceptions the only people interested in such as deal would be people needing professional photos of themselves. It turns out this is a good deal for aspiring or professional models, actors, dancers, musicians and other performers. I got some response.

One was a teenage boy, whose mother brought him in for some photos. Actors make good models, because they already know how to pose, and I have sold a bunch of images of the kid. But Barbara Jean made a wonderful suggestion. The mother would make a good model. She possessed a striking facial structure and a remarkable taste for style. The resulting photos have proved to be very successful and are still selling after eight years with a number of agencies.

For the first Barbara lent the mother her denim jacket, and we seated her in a cane-back chair, which we have since given to Goodwill. Here is the photo:

Woman Wearing Jean Jacket

This lady came back later, and we produced some outstanding images:

Woman Wearing Black Blouse Woman Wearing Scarf and Jewelry

Woman Wearing Scarf and Jewelry Woman Wearing Scarf

During this period I spent many months in other time zones, and I was unable to re-establish contact with this model later on.

About John Blanton

I'm a retired engineer living in San Antonio, Texas. I have served in the Navy, raced motorcycles, taken scads of photos and am usually a nice guy. I have political and religious opinions, and these opinions tend to be driven by an excess of observed stupidity. Gross stupidity is the supposed target of many of my posts.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Models, Photos, Women and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

