Flat Out at the Dome

I remember a time there wasn’t an Astrodome. It was the first of its kind domed stadium when it opened in 1965. It was just right for indoor motorcycle racing, and the first national championship even was held in 1968. Of course, road racing in the Dome was not practical, but it was just right for short track racing. I was there in the stands with my trusty camera to get a photo of Bennie Hardwicke getting run over by the pack in the first turn of the first lap of the first event of the season. I figured I needed to get closer.

In subsequent years I finagled a press pass so I could photograph the goings on from the floor. These photos are from 1969, and I’m having a hard time figuring out who all the riders are. Number 20 is Gene Romero, for sure, and I recall that Freddie Nix was number 3. He crashed right in front of me that night, and later that year was killed in automobile accident.

Fast action, indoor lighting equals blurry images. Anyhow, if anybody can identify some of the people, drop me a note:

File2399

File2400

File2401

File2403

File2408

File2411

About John Blanton

I'm a retired engineer living in San Antonio, Texas. I have served in the Navy, raced motorcycles, taken scads of photos and am usually a nice guy. I have political and religious opinions, and these opinions tend to be driven by an excess of observed stupidity. Gross stupidity is the supposed target of many of my posts.
This entry was posted in Motorcycle, Racing, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

