Small Town America

My last year in high school I had this camera my sister gave me, and I took this photo. It’s on the main street of the small Texas town where I grew up. A few weeks ago I posted a review of the movie Nebraska on another blog and used this picture to illustrate the grayness of that film.

Pearl Street Granbury

This week, 55 years after taking the above photo, I went back and shot the same site. Some things never change. For comparison I have rendered the image in black and white:

Granbury2014

I finished high school and left my home and went off to the Navy and then to college. 42 years ago I came back with a better camera. I walked around the town and took these photos. In no particular order and without elaboration:

File4170

File4179

File4188

File4185

File4181

File4182

File4183

File4184

File4187

File4172

File4186

File4189

File4190

File4191

About John Blanton

I'm a retired engineer living in San Antonio, Texas. I have served in the Navy, raced motorcycles, taken scads of photos and am usually a nice guy. I have political and religious opinions, and these opinions tend to be driven by an excess of observed stupidity. Gross stupidity is the supposed target of many of my posts.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Scenics, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Small Town America

  1. Mark Rash says:

    Thanks for sharing these photographs, John. I’m a photographer currently living in Granbury. It’s great to see how things have changed (and stayed the same)

  2. John Blanton says:

    Mark: I was born in Tolar and moved to Granbury and started there in the first grade. We lived at 211 South Houston Street. The old homestead has recently been replaced by a modern house, but you can see it was a great location. We sold the property shortly after the lake filled up and my father died.

    The recent photos were shot on Tri-X 6 cm (Bronica). I made the images by scanning the negatives, which process does not exactly duplicate the tones you would get from printing the negative. I can manipulate the response curve in PhotoShop and obtain the correct tones, but I did not do that with these, hence the highlights are a bit strained.

  3. Scott Young says:

    Mark, These are amazing pictures. My wife and I own the Hood County State Bank Building which shows a street light in your photo. We vaguely remember that street light as the only one in town. We have restored that building and my wife has a Ladies boutique, RED on the Square (everyone, now, calls the building the old RED bank building) I am on the Board of Preserve Granbury. Tell me how we can get prints or a file of these photos. I am not very tech savvy. Thanks for sharing!, Scott Young

  4. John Blanton says:

    About the street light. We moved to Granbury in December 1946, and I recall there was a street light there. This was also the place of a terrible car crash a few years later when somebody ignored the light. There was no by-pass. All Highway 377 traffic went through this light. For a long time this was the only traffic light in the town. Then there were two. Now I think they are back to none.

    • Scott Young says:

      John, several days ago I messaged or emailed you about your pictures. I cannot locate it. I know you replied, but cannot locate your reply. Sorry for my ineptitude. Could you please send again? Thanks again for sharing your amazing pictures.
      Scott Young, Granbury

  5. Melinda Ray says:

    John, I own the Nutt Hotel on the downtown square! I am currently working on a disply wall of pictures from the history of the hotel. I also someday hope to complete a coffee table book history of the Hotel and the Nutt Family in Granbury. I hope I can contact you regarding the use of copies of your photos in these two projects! Great Photos!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

