The House Not Lived In

A few years back my grandson, also named John, built a bird house and gave it to me. I put it up on the back yard fence and waited for some action.

No birds came to live there, so I asked John what I should do. He told me the birdhouse was just for decoration. I should not expect birds to actually live there.

So I put the bird house in the garage, and there it stayed for a year or so. Then last year my back yard trees had grown much larger, so I took the bird house and stuck it up in one of the trees. I just wedged it between some branches.

Early this week there was a great storm, and this morning I went out to check on stuff in the back yard. I was examining the tree with the bird house, and I noticed it had dropped down to a lower branch. I took a look, and it was obvious birds had built a nest inside the bird house.

I am guessing the birds have long since hatched and flown the coop, but I wedged the bird house, with the remains of a bird nest inside, among some lower branches in the tree. I will see if birds come back and use it again.

BirdHouseMay2014

About John Blanton

I'm a retired engineer living in San Antonio, Texas. I have served in the Navy, raced motorcycles, taken scads of photos and am usually a nice guy. I have political and religious opinions, and these opinions tend to be driven by an excess of observed stupidity. Gross stupidity is the supposed target of many of my posts.
This entry was posted in Animals, Nature, Photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The House Not Lived In

  1. Pingback: 2014 is so out of here! | Specular Photo of San Antonio

  2. Pingback: The Bird House | Specular Photo of San Antonio

Leave a Reply

