Florence Streets

I probably should look it up, but I think that “Florence” may be an Italian word that means “tan stucco.” Or maybe it’s just something in the city’s building codes.

I’ve been here a couple of times, and I always arrived at the railway station, the Stazione Santa Maria Novella, located right downtown where everything is. We’re staying at a townhouse accommodation across the river, but it’s still convenient to get around and to see the sights at street level.

I’ve shot a few Gs of images, mostly redundant, since we got here on Wednesday, and I’m going to just exhibit a few of them with comment. No real story behind any of this.

First a photo to make my “tan stucco” case:

 

 

 

IMG_6154

 

By the way, that’s a bridge over the Orno River. More about this late in a dedicated photo essay.

While I’m at it, our accommodations in Florence are the best so far, and that’s going to be another story.

IMG_5764

More tan stucco and also the outside view on the street where we live. We’re at number 42 on Via Pisana.

IMG_5951

So after unloading our luggage we headed out, and Barbara needed to navigate back to civilization. I suggested stopping at a news stand and getting a map. What news stand she wanted to know, and I said that one across the street. It was three Euros and worth it.

IMG_5784

I think living in Florence tends to be more laid back than in lots of other places.

IMG_5779

 

Lot’s to see here. Best on foot. You’re going to get a chance to burn off all that pasta and gelato.

IMG_5780

A great sight, day or night, is the complex at the Florence Cathedral.

IMG_5940

And you never know what you’re going to encounter. We were headed toward the cathedral plaza, and Barbara kept saying there was some music following us. She finally convinced me, and we stopped and waited. Behold, the music kept getting louder and louder, and from the street behind us and into the plaza emerged a Hare Krishna troupe. Who would have thought?

IMG_6093

Today’s our last day here. We’re going out to see the “historic” area, which is where we’re staying. I seem to recall this includes a residence of Leonardo di Vinci. We shall see.

 

About John Blanton

I'm a retired engineer living in San Antonio, Texas. I have served in the Navy, raced motorcycles, taken scads of photos and am usually a nice guy. I have political and religious opinions, and these opinions tend to be driven by an excess of observed stupidity. Gross stupidity is the supposed target of many of my posts.
This entry was posted in City, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Florence Streets

  1. Pingback: 2014 is so out of here! | Specular Photo of San Antonio

  2. Pingback: Tours Saturday | Specular Photo of San Antonio

Leave a Reply

