2014 is so out of here!

JohnBarbaraAssisiStation

We’re wrapping up 2014, and doing so, we’re going on the assumption that everything that’s worth talking about has already happened. So I’m dumping the previous 50 weeks of 2014 into a single post. Fact is, if anything interesting more happens in the next few days I’m going to add it to this post. Where to start?

What a dismal year 2014 has been. I haven’t held a steady job for over two years now. I mean, the economy is a complete wreck. Nobody will hire me. I keep getting these emails from recruiters, and they tell me someboey in California or Dallas wants to interview me for a hot job, and I ask whether this job is going to involve my taking a six-hour nap in the middle of the afternoon, and they say they don’t think so, and that’s the end of the interview.

So Barbara was saying, “If you can’t find a job, then why don’t you get some of this stuff done around the house?” and I say, “Like what?” and Barbara says, “Why don’t you do something about all that grass in the back yard?” and I drive over to this place on 1604 and order up six cubit yards of grass be gone. So much for the grass.

DumpingGravel

For every load there’s a wheel barrow, and for every wheel barrow there’s a first load, and there’s a last load.

LastLoad

And finally the critical grass has been covered up.

EastYard

SouthYard

About April it became apparent the Skeptical Analysis blog is not the best vehicle for family news, so I created the Specular Photo blog. It’s a place where I can put photos and vacation stories and such.

Glamorous Woman in Black Hat Woman Wearing Scarf and Jewelry Dancer in White

The site’s not all about glamorous women. One of the first posts was aimed at the grandson to end all grandsons. Grandson John built this bird house and gave it to me, and it was cute, and I asked him if I should put it out for birds to live in, and he said no, “It’s just for decoration.” I thought I would give it a try anyhow, and I stuck it in a tree in back of the house, and when I went back a few months later I noticed there was an old and abandoned bird’s nest inside.

BirdHouseMay2014

2014 was also a good time to hook up with classmates from Granbury High School from the class of 1959. In June we headed up to the place of my youth. Wow! Are we all getting old!

IMG_4573  IMG_4574  IMG_4580

Some have fared better than others.

IMG_4694

Along about this time an outing with Nancy and Gary turned into an adventure with a local car dealer.

IMG_4542

Came summer, and it was time for John to head back up to Austin to review text books for the Texas Education Agency. This time it was mathematics. Texas has instituted a new curriculum:

Advanced Quantitative Reasoning

TEAReview17June2014

All that done, it was time for vacation. But where to? Barbara said we had a load of airline miles. How many? Enough to get us both to Italy. And home again. September was a good time to go. October was a good time to come back. We figured out what to do with ourselves for three weeks, and it involved a number hotels and a lot of train travel. I’m still writing up the logs for this adventure. There were:

Cortona, the Hill Top Town

Cortona_ChurchAtBottomOfHill

Wedding in Cortona

IMG_5176

Day In Assisi

IMG_5001

Shopping Siena

IMG_5564

Florence Streets

IMG_6093

Of course, there has to be a video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QlMp1wvk9Ro

Pisa Holiday

IMG_5808

Venice P.M.

New_0003

The Masks of Venice

IMG_6919

Wedding in Sorrento

IMG_7179

A video from Rome at night: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vWjmwryYjq8

One Sunday in Rome

IMG_7533

Villa d’Este Tivoli

IMG_7677

Trains And Planes And Crawly Things

TrainSorrentoNaples

And even a video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KbRf5_HdxGU

By the time we got back from vacation South Texas had settled into a sharpened autumn. Came November, and the chill settled on Lost Maples State Park. It’s a short day trip from our home in San Antonio, and we headed out, stopping for lunch in Bandera.

The air was brisk, leaves were bright, and Barbara was up for a hike through the woods.

IMG_8196

Behind our house the trees along the Leon Creek nature trail caught the spirit.

IMG_8250

The cool weather in San Antonio is occasion brings people out for the festivals in the River Walk area. The Tamales Festival was absolutely jammed. We were there with Nancy and Gary and stopped off at the San Antonio Museum of Are for their free day.

IMG_8363 IMG_8419

About John Blanton

I'm a retired engineer living in San Antonio, Texas. I have served in the Navy, raced motorcycles, taken scads of photos and am usually a nice guy. I have political and religious opinions, and these opinions tend to be driven by an excess of observed stupidity. Gross stupidity is the supposed target of many of my posts.
This entry was posted in Events. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2014 is so out of here!

  1. Frances Bird says:

    Enjoyed this John!

Leave a Reply

