1968 Austin Aqua Festival

Apparently scans of some color film from the 1968 race. There are people you may recognize.

5X is Byron Black. 4 is Mike Cone. 42 is Dave Carpenter. 119 is David Watkins. 5 (no X) is Johnny Bryant. 116 I’ve seen around a lot, but I don’t recall his name. Don’t know 153.

File2647

File2646

File2645

File2644

File2643

File2642

File2641

File2640

File2639

File2638

File2637

File2636

File2635

File2634

File2633

File2632

File2631

File2630

File2629

File2628

About John Blanton

I'm a retired engineer living in San Antonio, Texas. I have served in the Navy, raced motorcycles, taken scads of photos and am usually a nice guy. I have political and religious opinions, and these opinions tend to be driven by an excess of observed stupidity. Gross stupidity is the supposed target of many of my posts.
This entry was posted in Motorcycle, Photos, Racing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1968 Austin Aqua Festival

  1. Mike Ryan says:

    Cool old pics , I raced Aquafest in the 80s
    post up any more pictures if you can
    Thanks

  2. John Blanton says:

    Byron Black, one of the racers in this event (5X), has attempted to post a comment. Being unable for technical reasons, he has gracefully allowed me to post this for him:

    I have to mention, with never-ending gratitude, the fact that it was the late Jack O’Leary of O’Leary Yamaha that made it possible for me to compete. I can’t recall why I didn’t bring my own machine (I was working in Fresno, California at the time) but his TD-1B was a fine ride. At least it was fine until I threw it down the road after a slow turn.

Leave a Reply

