Tamales Festival of 2015

There’s more to this story than the Tamales Festival. Read to the end to get the rest.

Saturday at the Tamales Festival at Pearl Brewery with Barbara, Nancy, and Gary.

Tamales2015-01

You go to the Tamales Festival to… To eat Tamales. Nancy and Gary went for the place selling chocolate tamales. How can you go wrong if it has chocolate? We went for J.J.’s, a mixture of chicken and pork. Barbara kept saying six. That sounded fine with me. No way would I be stuffed with three tamales. I didn’t realize she meant six each.

Barbara got in line (30 minutes). I took pictures of the crew serving up the tamales.

Tamales2015-02

Busy hands packaged the twelve mixture of chicken and pork.

Tamales2015-04

Barbara compra los tamales.

Tamales2015-03

Barbara come los tamales.

The Tamales Festival at Pearl Brewery has everything you would want, except for a place to dine. Fortunately stone walls abound. I brought drinks, napkins, and forks.

Tamales2015-05

Yeah, you can also get these crazy drinks. Didn’t try any.

Tamales2015-06

Naturally there was music.

Tamales2015-07

And comic goings on.

Tamales2015-08

Tamales eaten, drinks drunk, we worked it off with a stroll along the River Walk.

Tamales2015-09

And now for the rest of the story.

This item about the Tamales Festival was supposed to be the first thing on my plate come Sunday morning. That was not to be. A quick check showed that after today no more Bad Movies of the Week were left in the queue. I had to watch a bad move. This turned out not to be all that difficult. The first one I picked up was an excellent candidate. It’s They Came From Beyond Space. You’re going to like it.

So I had to watch that before I could do anything else. Then I had to get the images off my camera for this post. But first I loaded images off my tablet, then I went to get my camera. It was in the bag I brought back from the Tamales Festival. That’s where the trouble started.

The bag with the camera was also the bag for the sodas. There was one left. I needed to put the can into the refrigerator. But that can was the last one, and I needed to restock the refrigerator. No problem. There was another carton in the cupboard.

I got that out and removed the necessary cans. That left room for me to stand the carton upright in the cupboard. Provided I cut off the top portion of the carton. No problem.

I found my trusty utility knife and sprang into action. Putting the carton with the remaining cans on the kitchen table I proceeded to slice off the top five inches. Not a good idea. The knife sliced into one of the remaining cans, causing it to release its contents violently. Stuff was all over.

A roll of paper towels to the rescue, and after much swabbing and washing all was right again in the kitchen. All that was left for me to do was to return my trusty utility knife to its place in the computer room. I picked it up and started to fold it back into its handle.

Then the doorbell rang. Also there was an earnest knock at the door. I answered the door. It was Jimi, our next door neighbor. He had misplaced his phone, and wanted to use mine to contact his friend and also to try to locate his phone, in case he left it in his truck. No luck on finding his phone. He likely left it at the H-E-B store.

I told Jimi to come back over later today if he still needed my help, and I popped that matter off the top of the stack and processed the item below—returning the knife to the computer room.

Done! I’m all caught up for the day. The story about the Tamales Festival is now posted, and Barbara is still sleeping, unaware of all that has been going on. And I’m getting away with it clean unless somebody reading this post rats me out. That’s how I will know if anybody reads this to the very end.

About John Blanton

I'm a retired engineer living in San Antonio, Texas. I have served in the Navy, raced motorcycles, taken scads of photos and am usually a nice guy. I have political and religious opinions, and these opinions tend to be driven by an excess of observed stupidity. Gross stupidity is the supposed target of many of my posts.
This entry was posted in Events, Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

