Episode in Seville

Normally I plan my photo expeditions with sufficient care. While I am reduced to taking a single camera body on any trip that involves air travel, I do ensure I have spare memory cards, batteries, and a charger that will accommodate the local power system. What could possibly go wrong?

I discovered what during a burst of photographic activity in Málaga. Wanting to post some photos to the blog, I picked several and used the Canon utility to produce JPEGs. Bad news. One RAW image refused to convert. The Canon app said it was corrupt. I subsequently discovered two more corrupt. A little reflection on the history of the image time lines brought the conclusion the memory card was failing.

No problem. I have a spare. The spare worked wonderfully. No corrupt images. One problem, however. My spare card had developed a severe mechanical issue. The covering was warped, making it difficult to insert the card into the camera. I figured that pulling the card one more time from the camera (in order to copy images to the computer) would be the last time that card would ever go back into the camera. That posed a dilemma.

It was Sunday in Málaga, and the stores were closed. No chance of getting a new card in Málaga. The next opportunity would be in Sevilla on Monday. I dove into Google to locate an electronics store in Sevilla. Nothing promising turned up.

I had two options. Find a store and buy another CF card or purchase the correct USB cable to connect the camera to the computer. But I needed to find a store. Came Monday morning and time to get on the train to Sevilla.

Great news! Our hotel in Sevilla is right across the street from the train station. That still did not solve the problem of the image card. So we checked into the hotel and walked across the street to the Burger King for a chicken sandwich and a Whopper (for Barbara). Then back to the hotel for some rest. Done with eating for the day, we considered we needed some refreshment before bed time. The train station had a coffee shop. That would be a nice place to get some tea (not coffee) and a chocolate muffin. We exited the hotel. I looked. There, across the street, right next door to Burger King was…

MediaMart

Yes! Media Mart to the rescue. We went in. Yes, CF cards upstairs. Up we went. Then the lady came upstairs to find us. No, the CF cards were really downstairs. We went downstairs and found the memory card display. Nothing but SD cards. There was a display that advertised CF cards. I asked the woman. No. No hay CF cards. No hay mas. We went across the street to the train station for tea and chocolate muffins.

Going back to the hotel we noticed Media Mart was still open after 9 p.m. I told Barbara, “If they are open at 9 they will be open at 9:30.” I left Barbara at the hotel room and took the Canon across the street to Media Mart. I was told USB cables were upstairs. Upstairs there was an ample display of USB cables. It appeared the type B connector was for my Canon. The tech guy in the red shirt agreed. “Es compatible.” 7.99€, and I am now back in business.

Monday when I get to San Antonio two CF cards go into the trash, and Amazon gets another sale. And the world is safe for democracy again.

About John Blanton

I'm a retired engineer living in San Antonio, Texas. I have served in the Navy, raced motorcycles, taken scads of photos and am usually a nice guy. I have political and religious opinions, and these opinions tend to be driven by an excess of observed stupidity. Gross stupidity is the supposed target of many of my posts.
This entry was posted in Photos, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Episode in Seville

  1. Pingback: Crashing 2016 | Specular Photo of San Antonio

Leave a Reply

